top of page

The University of Waikato, located in the central North Island city of Hamilton, is an internationally recognised tertiary institution offering degree programmes designed to produce job-ready graduates. More than 12,000 students are currently studying at Waikato, including 2,000 international students.


In 2017, the University of Waikato was placed in the top 1.1% in the world in the 2017 QS World University Rankings, having gained over 100 places in the last four years. In 2016, it was awarded a five star rating by QS Stars, confirming the University of Waikato's status as a world-class university with a high reputation for employment, cutting-edge facilities, internationally renowned research, and outstanding teaching and student satisfaction.


As the University of Waikato continues to grow, it is expanding its teaching and research activity to the Bay of Plenty region, building a new campus in Tauranga, opening to students in February 2019. 


Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences offers a wide range of qualifications from undergraduate certificates, diplomas and degrees through to postgraduate research. Subjects taught within the Faculty include the Social Sciences, the Humanities, including a number of modern foreign languages, and the Performing Arts.

Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences

The Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences provides a stimulating and leading-edge environment of quality relevant teaching programmes and world-class research, producing graduates well matched for the challenges of the contemporary and future workplace.

Faculty of Education

The Faculty of Education provides programmes in areas such as teacher education, counselling, human development, education, educational leadership and education studies. It distinguishes itself among other education schools through its tradition and reputation for innovation, leadership and research.

Faculty of Health, Sport and Human Performance

The Faculty of Health, Sport and Human Performance provides an innovative platform for bringing together expertise from across the University and our community to explore new ideas and ways of looking at issues and challenges that affect how we live, work and play.

Faculty of Law

The Faculty of Law provides an innovative, student-focused Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree in a stimulating academic environment. The Faculty's founding goals of professionalism, biculturalism, and the study of law in context attract an exciting and diverse group of staff and students.

Faculty of Science and Engineering

The Faculty of Science and Engineering offers a range of innovative programmes for the undergraduate degrees of Bachelor of Engineering with Honours, Bachelor of Science, and the Bachelor of Science (Technology). The Faculty also hosts the Environmental Research Institute and the only university based Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) funded Outcome Based Investment on freshwater restoration. Commercial units include Radio Carbon Dating, Stable Isotopes and DNA Sequencing.

Waikato Management School

The Waikato Management School has distinguished itself among New Zealand business schools by the relevance and rigour of its education and research, and its belief that business and enterprise are most successful when they improve the communities, societies, and nations in which they operate.

bottom of page