top of page


Established in 1883, the University of Auckland is New Zealand’s largest university, with over 40,000 students, including 6,300 international students. It is a QS Five Stars Plus institution, having achieved five stars in eight categories including Employability, Teaching and Research. It is also ranked in the top 100 in the QS World University Rankings and in the top 200 in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings.


The University’s eight faculties are located over five campuses, although most students attend the main City Campus. Located in the heart of Auckland, the University is close to the city’s main transport hubs, the bustling central business district, shops, theatres and social scene.


Faculty of Arts
The Faculty of Arts is one of the world’s leading research centres for the humanities, languages and social sciences. It offers bachelor, postgraduate and doctoral degrees in areas as diverse as History, Spanish, Philosophy and Anthropology.

Business School
The Business School is committed to producing the world-class graduates, research and ideas required to support and grow New Zealand's knowledge-based economy.

Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries
A vibrant hub for interdisciplinarity, connectivity and collaboration, the Faculty of Creative Arts and Industries also comprises the School of Architecture and Planning, Elam School of Fine Arts, the School of Music, the Dance Studies Programme and the Centre for Arts Studies.

Faculty of Education and Social Work
The home of cutting-edge education research and professional practice, the Faculty of Education and Social Work offers innovative undergraduate programmes in teacher education, social work and human services. A full range of postgraduate programmes are also available.

Faculty of Engineering
The Faculty of Engineering offers a range of specialisations. Alongside traditional offerings like civil and environmental engineering and mechanical engineering, new specialisations such as software, mechatronics and biomedical engineering have been introduced in response to the changing needs of society.

Faculty of Law
New Zealand's largest law faculty, The University of Auckland’s Faculty of Law boasts authorities in a variety of fields from commercial law to public law, including human rights and environmental law.

Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences
The Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences includes schools of Nursing, Pharmacy, Population Health, Medical Sciences and Medicine. Teaching takes place at the University’s Grafton and Tāmaki Campuses, with clinical schools at Auckland City, Middlemore and Waikato Hospitals and additional clinical placements in Northland.

Faculty of Science
The Faculty of Science offers a wide range of subjects and specialisations at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. The scope of these subjects reflects the need for both theoretical and applied science as well as the interdisciplinary nature of many problems science and technology can resolve.

Research Institutes

The Auckland Bioengineering Institute
A cross-faculty research centre, the Auckland Bioengineering Institute deals with the application of mathematical and engineering sciences to biology generally and human physiology in particular.

The Liggins Institute
The Liggins Institute is committed to world-class biomedical and clinical research in areas of major health importance. The Institute is one of the world’s leading centres for research on foetal and child health, growth and development, breast cancer, epigenetics and evolutionary medicine.

bottom of page